Monday, November 16, 2009

Maine Film Commission

Today I faxed my application for gubernatorial appointment to Joe Boucher, Director of Boards and Commissions, Office of the Governor.

My hope is to be appointed to the Maine Film Commission and I would encourage those of you who are Maine residents, interested in helping to grow Maine’s media production economy to also apply.

According to Lea Girardin, the Director of the Maine Film Office, as of September 3rd, 2009 there were 6 members of the Maine Film Commission.

Member Title
Debra Lord Cooke SAG/AFTRA actor
Her term expires this November, she has served three terms.

Tom Craig Independent Film Producer
His term expires 11/2010, he has served one term.

Stephanie V. Hart President, The Shamrock Group LLC
Her term expires this November , she has served one term

Brenda Jepson Media Production Educator, Independent Filmmaker
Her term expires this November, she has served two terms

Donna McNeil,Ex Officio Director, Maine Arts Commission
As an Ex Officio member her term does not expire.

Representative Hannah Pingree, Ex Officio Maine Legislature
Hannah Pingree resigned when she assumed the duties of Speaker of the House.

Clare Tully Entertainment Law, Bernstein, Shur, Sawyer & Nelson
Her term expires this November, she has served one term.

According to the rules of the Maine Film Commision Part 3, Section 1 “The Commission shall consist of 11 members appointed by the governor. “

If everyone whose term expires in November is reappointed, there is still a need for 5 new members.

To apply contact:
Joe Boucher
Director of Boards and Commissions
Office of the Governor
1 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
207-287-3531 (P)
207-287-1034 (F)

Please don’t hesitate to apply. We need your voice.